why I took a break from blogging…

I started this blog to track my weight loss journey. I wanted to provide an outlet for all the frustrations, triumphs, and ridiculous stories that I knew I would experience. I gained a following, received encouraging feedback, and was reassured by friends, family, and Jake (over and over again) that my blog was meant for self-expression, not perfection. I spent so much time writing posts and then deleting them, all because the pictures were un- inspiring. I could never plate the meal just right, or catch natural light (I live in a basement unit, ½ underground), and I was taking pictures of my food, just like your middle aged aunt on Facebook. I was embarrassed. So I stopped.

I spent a lot of time traveling (Charleston, Asheville, Orlando, St. Augustine) and enjoyed food that I had been depriving. I even found my “dream” pasta- see below.

IMG_1445

It felt good to be relaxed, away from Orange Theory, away from the kitchen, away from the blog.  But then, on these trips I would feel a hint of disappointment. Like when I professed my love to Molly about Orange Theory (even though I hadn’t been in 2 weeks), or when I asked Rachel if she could take pictures of food that we made (because she’s much more talented with item placement), or specifically the time that I asked Logan to take a headshot for my blog (that I had stopped writing), WHAT IS HAPPENING? I am a confident, self-motivated, “here’s my story” kind of girl.

So with all of these thoughts swirling around, I’ve come back to the blog. I struggle with item placement, I cook mostly at Jakes (where he has mismatched Tupperware and horrible lighting), I use my iphone for pictures, and I make recipes that are normal. This is not the blog that explores cuisine of the world, or uses ingredients that you have never hear of. This is a blog where I make great tasting, average looking, normal, weight loss food. I shop at Aldi. I sometimes forget something in the oven. And sometimes when I’m feeling really bad, I eat a gluten free brownie with sugar free vanilla frozen yogurt and top it with sugar free syrup. YUP.

So with all of that being said, I wanted to post an easy, super refreshing dinner that I made last night. I didn’t really use a recipe, I just made something that sounded good.

 Fresh Chicken Gryo’s

FullSizeRender2

What you’ll need:

  • Pita, or whole wheat tortillas, or just use lettuce
  • Chicken tenderloins (seasoned with olive oil, red wine vinegar, garlic, salt, pepper, oregano)
  • Tomatoes (diced)
  • Red onion (diced)
  • Iceburg lettuce (shredded)
  • Cucumbers (diced)
  • Feta (optional)
  • Olive Oil
  1. Marinate chicken with olive oil, red wine vinegar, garlic, salt, pepper, oregano. Let chill for 1 hour.
  2. Place marinated chicken on baking sheet and broil (about 5 minutes) until they look a little ‘charred’. Once cooled, dice the chicken.
  3. Add olive oil to a skillet and toast pita (about 2 minutes on each side).
  4. Add chicken and veggies to pita and top with feta (optional). I chose to drizzle mine with olive oil and red wine vinegar.

FullSizeRender4

For the sides, I had a bit of a mixture. I made a quinoa salad that Jake and I both didn’t like (eek), sautéed mushrooms, hummus and pita chips, and watermelon.

FullSizeRender5

FullSizeRender1

There were ALOT of leftover ingredients, so for the next few days I’ll be posting variations to make leftovers feel less like leftovers.

 

Cheers,

S.L.

 

Leave a Reply

