buffalo turkey meatballs

When I first started S&L I only wrote about my day-to-day experiences/triumphs/embarrassing stories. I never really planned to pack the blog full of recipes, but the more time that I invested in weight loss/strength training and challenges, the more I realized that food was a HUGE part of this journey. So, I began to post food posts… and no one read them. Blogging (and the statistics behind them) can mess with your emotions. On a day where I share a rant or personal story I get hundreds of views. On the days where I post a recipe, I get maybe 40. If no one is reading them, wouldn’t it be easier to just post a picture on Instagram and be done with it?

That’s been my mindset for the last few weeks. I’ve continues to make recipes that I love and am really excited about, only to snap a quick pic (which I end up using as a mental note to make that again). It was an encounter this weekend that made me re-motivated to continue posting recipes (and boosted my blogging self esteem). I was back in BG for an alumni event and ran into some friends from college at a local deli. After a few quick hellos, I turned my attention back to the menu. One of the guys from the table called out and asked if I could start posting the recipes on the blog so that his girlfriend (who was sitting next to him, ayyyee Ellie) could try to successfully recreate the dish. SO…this one is for you Ellie!

I’m on the last week of my challenge through Paige Hathaway and am restricted to green vegetables and protein. I’ve had my far share of spinach, brussel sprouts, and zucchini. I’m counting down the days until I can have my desired cheat meal (I’m coming for ya’ double dogs)! In order to make these last few days tolerable, I made a knock-off version of one of my favorite guilty pleasures… boneless buffalo wings. Since Jake and I meal plan a week out, I made this recipe (x3). The recipe below will be just 1x (the picture illustrate x3).

Original recipe from here.

Ingredients: (with ALDI prices)

  • 1 pound ground turkey (97% lean, 3% fat)       $3.29
  • 3/4 cup Panko                                                            $.79
  • 1 large egg                                                                   $.49/dozen
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder                                   $.99
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder                                  $.99
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced                               $.89
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 3/4 cup buffalo sauce                                             (had some on hand)
  • 1/4 cup blue cheese dressing                               $1.79

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat; set aside.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

In a large bowl, combine ground chicken, Panko, egg, garlic and onion powder and green onions; season with salt and pepper, to taste. Using a wooden spoon or clean hands, stir until well combined. Roll the mixture into 1 1/4-to-1 1/2-inch meatballs, forming about 24 meatballs.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
I mix with my kitchen-aid mixer.
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
I use a cookie scoop to form the balls.

Place meatballs onto prepared baking sheet and bake for 4-5 minutes, or until all sides are browned.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Place meatballs into a slow cooker. Add buffalo sauce and gently toss to combine. Cover and cook on low heat for 2 hours.
Serve immediately, drizzled with blue cheese dressing, if desired.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Murphy keeps me company while I cook and was really proud of the final product.

Cheers,

S.L.

Leave a Reply

