sydney tries: restorative yoga {& briefly adopted a new dog}

With Classpass I get 5 classes a month to explore new workouts in Nashville. I never dreamt that I would spend one of those classes on restorative yoga. The reason being, is that typically these classes offer little to no activity. It’s more of a stretching/breathing place. However, after I single-handedly took my life from pleasant and stable to (fuc*ing) crazy, I decided that restoring my inner harmony was much needed.

Backstory:

Last week I was getting ready to start my per  feeling emotional and thought that it would be a good idea to get our dog, Murphy, another dog to play with. I had been searching Craigslist to adopt a dog and came across the most perfect dog, WHO LOOKED JUST LIKE MURPHY. They were the same age, the same coloring, and seemed to have the same personality.

img_9108-copy
L: Murphy, R: Henry

So, I contacted the owner, sent him this side-by-side  picture and told him that I NEEDED Henry. After a few people backed out on taking Henry, I was next in line. His owner said that they were on the way for a 2-day trial run. The immediate reaction was ADORABLE. They were both so high energy, fast, and adorable. I truly believed this was the answer to all of my prayers. There was FINALLY a dog that was more energetic than Murphy. They ran in the backyard until neither one of them could stand. IT WAS GREAT.

It was when I let them back inside that insanity started. Henry was not fixed (but not able to procreate) and WOULD NOT STOP humping Murphy. I thought it would die down after an hour or so, but the urges continued. I spent my entire evening pulling a 40 pound dog off my Murphy! Henry humped while Murphy ate dinner, while he ate his kong, and while he slept on the floor. Murphy just…took it? But by the end of the night, I was exhausted, Murphy was crying, and Henry just would not stop. Jake tried to help by calling him a “bad boy”, which then evoked a pretty aggressive side to Henry. Enough is Enough. This was not going to be a good fit. As cute as Henry was, Murphy’s safety and happiness were still my top priority. Henry had to go back. After one sleepless night, two crying puppies in cages, and a severely scratched hardwood floor. Henry was sent home and Murphy gave a long, wet, lick of approval.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Murphy resting after our guest left.

I was a freaking mess. I was sad that it didn’t work out. I was sad that Murphy was sad. I was sad that Henry wasn’t the dog I hoped for. I was sad that the owner had to find a new family. I was sad I gave up so easily. I was sad that I felt SO EMOTIONAL. The process of wanting a dog, finding a dog, getting a dog, giving away a dog, all within 22 hours was just too much. I needed to push the reset button on what was surely the LONGEST DAY OF MY LIFE. So… I booked restorative yoga at a studio called Beyond Yoga.

It was the perfect way to completely re-center and unwind. There were only four of us in the ‘lunch express’ class. Which was nice for my nerves. I was the youngest person there by about 20 years, and I loved it. I did not feel nervous of embarrassed, I literally tuned out all of my emotions. The class focused on slow breathing, wall stretching, lower back stretching, slow rocking, deep stretching, and meditation. It ends with a meditation move where your head is elevated on a yoga block. The instructor comes around with blue oil, massages your neck, behind the ears and arms slowly and allows the after -tingle of the blue oil to repair your soul. I felt like I had been kissed by 1,000 angels.

Situations that would be good for restorative yoga: your job stresses you out, your significant other stresses you out, being single stresses you out, you’re sick and feeling achy, your body is sore from a hard workout, you’re feeling sad/emotional/lonely/sick/depressed, you need to clear your head, you feel like you’re being over emotional, or you simply need a reset.

One thing I REALLY liked about this studio is that they offer a few classes of Church Yoga on Sunday. You literally do yoga and listen to a sermon. A few years ago I heard someone say that “God would rather you be fishing on Sunday morning and thinking about him. Than be in church on Sunday morning, thinking about going fishing.”

If you live in the Nashville area and would like to go with me in the next few weeks, please let me know! I’d love someone to tag along.

Cheers,

S.L

Leave a Reply

